Fuocoammare wins the Golden Bear at Berlinale

The Berlin film festival is one of the most interesting festivals in the world. It is one of the main festivals in the world but it always seems to never choose for the glitter and glamour that goes with that status. The programme always lists a very divers and interesting slate of films that you don’t find in the loud and shiny Cannes or between the film stars and water of the Mostra in Venice.

Meryl Streep, head of the Jury this year, and the rest of impressive international jury awarded the Golden Bear to “Fuocoammare“(Fire at Sea), an Italian documentary by grandmaster Gianfranco Rosi, about the immigration problems in Lampedusa. The Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize went to Danis Tanovic’s (also has the Belgian nationality) Bosnian drama “Smrt u Sarajevu” (Death in Sarajevo).

The festival went the political way with their awards with Majd Mastoura winning the best actor Silver Bear for Tunisian drama “Hedi”.

Hele Sa Hiwagang Hapis”(A Lullaby To The Sorrowful Mystery) a 8-hour epos about the Philippine Revolution won the Alfred Bauer Prize for a feature film that opens new perspectives.

Please find the list of winners below:

Golden Bear for Best Film
“Fire At Sea”
Dir: Gianfranco Rosi

Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize
“Death in Sarajevo”
France/Bosnia and Herzegovina
Dir: Danis Tanović

Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize for a feature film that opens new perspectives
“A Lullaby To The Sorrowful Mystery”
Dir: Lav Diaz

Silver Bear for Best Director
Mia Hansen-Love, “Things To Come” (France/Germany)

Silver Bear for Best Actress
Trine Dyrholm, “The Commune” (Denmark/Sweden/Netherlands)

Silver Bear for Best Actor
Majd Mastoura, “Inhebbek Hedi” (Tunisia/Belgium/France)

Silver Bear for Best Script
Tomasz Wasilewski, “United States Of Love” (Poland)

Silver Bear for Outstanding Artistic Contribution
Mark Lee Ping-Bing, Cinematographer, “Crosscurrent” (China)

Best First Feature
“Inhebbek Hedi”
Dir: Mohamed Ben Attia

Golden Bear for Best Short Film
“Balada De Um Batráquio”
Dir: Leonor Teles

Silver Bear Jury Prize (Short Film)

“A Man Returned”
Dir: Mahdi Fleifel

Audi Short Film Award
“Jin Zhi Xia Mao”
Dir: Chiang Wei Liang

Stanley Berenboom

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *