Gisaengchung wins the Palme d’Or at The Cannes Film Festival!

The Cannes Film Festival loves the Asiatic cinema, after last year’s Palme d’Or for Manbiki Kazoku (“Shoplifters”) from the great Japanese director Hirokazu Kore-eda, it is “Gisaengchung” (“Parasite“) from legendary director Bong Joon-ho that won the Palm. The critic’s in Cannes are all in agreement that is the most deserving winner.

It was a very competitve year with so many old winners in competition: Terrence Malick (“A Hidden Life”), Quentin Tarantino (“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”), Ken Loach (“Sorry We Missed You”), and the Dardenne Brothers (“The Young Ahmed”). Surprisingly though the new film of Tarantino  didn’t win any award. The film was praised when shown at the Croisette and boost a stellar cast. It wasn’t enough.

It was a good year for Belgian cinema with Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne receiving the prize for Best Director for “The Young Ahmed” and “Nuestras Madres” from César Díaz winning “Camera d’or”.

Mati Diop“Atlantics,”  won the Grand Prix at Cannes which was historic not only because it was her first film but also because Diop became the first black female filmmaker to have a film play in Cannes competition.

Full list

Palme d’Or: “Parasite,” Bong Joon-ho

Grand Prix: “Atlantics,” Mati Diop

Jury Prize (tie): “Les Misérables” (Ladj Ly) and “Bacurau” (Kleber Mendonça Filho, Juliano Dornelles)

Best Actress: Emily Beecham, “Little Joe”

Best Actor: Antonio Banderas, “Pain & Glory”

Best Director: Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne, “The Young Ahmed”

Best Screenplay: “Portrait of a Lady on Fire,” Céline Sciamma

Special Mention of the Jury: “It Must Be Heaven,” Elia Suleiman

Camera d’Or: “Our Mothers,” César Díaz

Short Film Palme d’Or: The Distance Between Us And The Sky,” Vasilis Kekatos

Special Mention of the Jury: “Monstruo Dios,” Agustina San

Queer Palm (Feature): “Portrait of a Lady on Fire,” Céline Sciamma

Queer Palm (Short):The Distance Between Us And The Sky,” Vasilis Kekatos

Stanley Berenboom

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *